katimavikottawa

Our reflections of the Katimavik Program and host community

Riding on Lessons from Otesha November 14, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — katimavikottawa @ 2:53 pm

Hello!

Michael here and today I’m not going to be blogging about being a house manager or cooking for my roommates or even one of our various Katimavik activities. No, today I am going to tell you about a special little organization called The Otesha Project. What is The Otesha Project? To fully describe everything that The Otesha Project does would be an impossible task, but The Otesha Project is a youth-led charitable organization that mobilizes and equips Canadians to create local and global change through individual and collective choices. The organization’s vision is to see sustainable consumption and lifestyle choices enter the mainstream of Canadian culture. The organization is founded on the idea that every individual has the power to make choices that affect that world and the idea that step by step, choice by choice, we can build a more sustainable future by building community, making conscious lifestyle choices and reducing consumption. The Otesha Project fulfills its mission by organizing and executing cross-Canada bicycle tours—from coast to coast, over mountains, you name it, Otesha does it.

 

So what do I do? Well, over the course of my time at the Otesha office, I’ve done such various activities as getting in contact with media outlets in the Yukon to calling community centers across Victoria to make sure our cycling superstars had a place to sleep. In general, I’m here to make sure everything goes smoothly in the organization by offering whatever help I can to support the various projects in our bustling office. Making phone calls, sending faxes, and the occasional co-op lunch are all part of my work routine here at Otesha.

 

Now some of you may think, “well, gee whiz Mike, all that office work sounds pretty

boring, this just sounds like any other office environment.” Let me assure you, my friends, that in that regard you’d be dead wrong. Through my work at Otesha, I have done more  helping for our tours than I ever thought were possible. With my help, the Otesha cycling teams had organized schedules, further enabling them to be on time for performances and workshops. I also assisted the team when they had an issue with their last accommodation in Victoria, by coordinating  a new place for them to sleep. These little things have filled me with a sense of great accomplishment. Not to mention the friends I’ve made and the skills that I’ve learned during my time in the Otesha office.

 

I could go on for pages and pages about Otesha, but it all really comes down to this: if you want to meet people with a different way of thinking, doing, and living, then check out The Otesha Project on their website, http://www.otesha.ca. You won’t be disappointed


 

 

Leave a Reply

